ESA-UK Economic Partnership Agreement

18th Jan 2021

The United Kingdom signed a continuity agreement, namely the Economic Partnership Agreement (EPA) with the Eastern and Southern African States (ESA) which came into force on 1st January 2021. This comes later, following the Europe-ESA Interim EPA already in place in 2020 and signed with Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe and Madagascar. The States involved in this new agreement include Mauritius, Seychelles, Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Comoros and Zambia. The states that have already signed this interim agreement as at 1st January 2021 include Mauritius, Seychelles and Zimbabwe.

As per Mauritius Government press release on December 28th 2020, the EPA covers business activities in Mauritius that are of high export interest, such as: sugar, tuna, garments, agro-processed products, with Terms and Rules of Origin similar to that of the Europe - ESA Interim EPA.

The Agreement also encompasses a tuna quota to be met by Mauritius, Seychelles and Madagascar and a Rendez-Vous clause regarding future negotiations between ESA member states and the UK on areas not currently covered by the EPA.